Joe S. Thomas – Socialfit77

A page for writing short stories, essays, poetry and lyrics.


A Nice Feeling for a Change By Joe S. Thomas

***

Today the weather was absolutely beautiful…  Rarely do I say such things…  I’d gone downstairs to do something in the basement and upon coming back up the steps outside my body just stopped as if begging for the vitamins and comfort only the sun can provide…  I pulled out a cigarette, lit it up and stayed there standing on the steps with my eyes closed, face tilted upward so that all I could see was the pink of the back of my eyelids and the shapes that began to flash from behind them…  It felt perfect, right, like I was actually where I was supposed to be and doing what I was supposed to be doing if only for five minutes…  Those feelings do not come to me often, hardly ever actually…  I took it all in until I began to feel I was being watched by somebody, somewhere and got self-conscious…  I’m not sure why I gave a fuck, but perhaps the moment had passed…  I needed that time and I feel it made this day worth living if only for those five minutes…  In Georgia, you have to take advantage of this type of weather while you’re able…  It doesn’t stick around long…  There was a gentle breeze along with the full sunshine that didn’t involve stifling humidity and that’s special here…  There are a few weeks in the spring and fall when you get this weather here so you’d better grab every ounce you can while it makes itself available…  Especially since the summers are so bad now due to global warming that there are often warnings to not go outdoors during certain hours in the summer…  It’s ridiculous…  However, I’m thankful for what I received today, truly…  This Monday there is supposed to be an eclipse…  I hope to get to partake in that too…  Beautiful, interesting weather as of late… I came inside, attempted a poem that wasn’t working due to me trying to force it too much…  I erased it, downloaded a new book, made another cup of coffee and began reading in said book…  Though the words weren’t flowing in that form today, my new project: Laughing Madly Through Pain and Regret:Words 2024 has been flowing fairly well…  I’m not sure what I’m writing is poetry in the “proper” sense of the term (whatever that may mean), but it feels right and usually flows very freely helping me to get things out of my head…  Therefore I’ll continue…



4 responses to “A Nice Feeling for a Change By Joe S. Thomas”

  1. I love this for you. Sometimes it’s the little things that provide a little sparkle that can go a long way. Thank you for writing. Wishing you the best.

    1. Thanks so much. I truly appreciate you reading it and reaching out. Hope you have a great day. ✌🏻

  2. I loved this moment for you, Joe. I hope you’re well.

    1. Thanks so much. I hope all has been well with you.✌🏻Thanks again.😊

Leave a comment