Joe S. Thomas – Socialfit77

A page for writing short stories, essays, poetry and lyrics.


Dangerous Fairy Tales By Joe S. Thomas

***

Awakened by a loud thunderstorm this evening and can’t get back to sleep…  Once awake, I can never just go back to sleep…  I’m unable or perhaps unwilling to finish the third part of the blog posts I’ve started regarding the life altering events that happened to me back in August of 2018 due to a manic episode…  Right now my heart is not in it and to be honest, it’s been hurting me too much lately and leaving me in a mood that is no good for me or anyone in my path…  I needed a break from the narrative…  You have to remember this isn’t a made up story and I’m still unfortunately dealing with the consequences from all of this…  I will get back to it as soon as possible…  I decided to watch a documentary called The Mission on Hulu…  It’s about some guy named John Chau who was an American Christian missionary who thought he would go to this remote island and share the so-called “good news” with one of the most remote tribes in the world…  Imagine if you were at home on your own space, not bothering a soul and not wanting to be bothered by anyone because you know from the past that any visitor that comes to your place either brings disease, takes from your culture or exploits you in other ways…  Not to mention the fact that they come with the news that the god or gods you and your ancestors have paid homage to for who knows how long are wrong (and from Satan), but they have the one true God and you must listen to them or rot in a hot burning fire forever…  Really think about that…  When I was first married, my now ex wife’s family was heavily involved with a church that was big on missionary work…  In order to appease her very Christian-minded father she and I attended this church that she and her family were raised (and brainwashed) in…  From the start I was an outsider and ultimately I would remain one thank goodness…  It was a well-to-do church that had no money issues…  Most of the rich in our city went to this church…  The CEO’s, local government officials and their families, etc made up the majority of this church…  And then you have a schmuck such as myself…  A non-believing punk rocker who happened to fall in love with the wrong woman…  That was the lot I was in…  I played the game and went through the motions, wasting the little time I had off from my 40 plus hour a week job to go and play dress up with these rich people on Sundays…  I hated myself and it caused problems I still deal with today…  As I said, they were heavy handed with the missionary work, sending married couples, young families, singles and youth to places such as Ecuador, Africa and other places to share the bible with these folks…  The missionaries relied on money they had to go about raising through the church to fund these trips…  As I said, money wasn’t an issue with these fine, rich Christian folks…  I didn’t grow up in the church…  At my best, I may have gone to vacation bible school as a kid, but that was to follow this girl around that I had a crush on…  See, I was evil from the start…  Lol…  I always had a problem with mission work and I do so more than ever now…  To go to someone else’s country claiming the way they are living is wrong and sinful is beyond arrogant and disgusting to me…  Very American though, right…  Could you imagine if people from other nations came crawling up on American shores telling us we were wrong…  Shit, I don’t think that would float well and you know it wouldn’t…  Yet we think it’s alright for us (Americans) to pull this shit…  How absurd…  It truly makes me sick to think of this shit…  The documentary I was watching tonight is a great cautionary tale…  It seems young Mr. Chau was greeted and warned the first time he pulled up with his bible by a tribesman who put an arrow through his little black book…  For some reason he thought it was a good idea to return and paid for it with his life…  His death is still being investigated the last I’d heard…  He was killed by the tribesmen, the investigation is to find out exactly what went on I believe…  The moral of this missive, America isn’t always right…  Why we think this is way beyond me…  Second, live and let live…  Not everyone wants to be molested by your fairy tales…  I digress…  Watch the documentary…



Leave a comment